Each year at the Annual Dinner Outstanding Cooperator of the Year Dinner, Calvert SCD recognizes a family or individual that demonstrates their commitment to conservation. By adopting new best management practices to protect soil and water resources to keep nutrients and sediment out of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, you are setting a fine example of a farm to save the Bay as well as good conservation efforts for the environment. For your exemplary stewardship of the land, the wildlife that inhabit it, and the animals in your care, we thank you.

History of Outstanding Cooperators of the Year:

1961 Billy Bowen

1962 Alvin King

1963 Benjamin Parran

1964 Gilbert Chaney

1965 Dennis Monnett

1966 William M. Phipps

1967 Young D. Hance

1968 Edwin Ward

1969 Raymond Garrity

1970 Kennard Ward

1971    Malcolm Gordon Grahame

1972    Leroy B. Williams

1973    James Bourne 

1974    Thomas I. Weems, Jr.

1975    Clifton Whittington

1976    Raymond Hutchins

1977    Edward J. Allen         

1978    Robert Hance and Benjamin Hance

1979    Daniel W. Gibson

1980    J. Kenneth Hutchins, Jr.

1981    Richard Horsmon

1982    Thomas Cullember

1983    Timothy Gott

1984    Allen Swann

1985    Robert Carter

1986    Thomas Weems

1987    Walt and Susie Wells

1988    Cassandra Briscoe

1989    No one chosen

1990    John Crane

1991    No one chosen

1992    John D. Briscoe

1993    John A. Prouty

1994    Richard Smith

1995    Leroy Bowen

1996    David Cox

1997    Spencer Howes

1998    Phillip Jones

1999    Wilson Freeland

2000    Frankie Woods

2001    Howard Anderson

2002    Paul Sellers    

2003    Jim Bourne

2004    Donald T. Gott

2005    Parran Briscoe

2006 Walt Wells & Susie Hance-Wells

2007 William Dowell

2008 Mary Jean Ridgley

2009 Judy Leavitt

2010 Mark & Bonnie Spicknall

2011 S.L. Brady

2012 Lester Holland

2013 Josef Seidel

2014 Tiralla Family, Monnett Farm

2015 J.R. Cosgrove Family, Horsmon Farm

2016 Eddie Smith

2017 Kathy Bowen, Legacy Farm

2018 Donny Bowen, Patuxent Overlook Farm

2019 James & Jennifer Dowell, Tyverne Creek Farm

2020-2022 No one selected

2023 Margaret and Mike Phipps, Mead’s Lane Farm